

Lou Ann Texeira

Executive Officer

# CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor • Martinez, CA 94553-1229

e-mail: LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us (925) 335-1094 • (925) 335-1031 FAX

#### **MEMBERS**

Donald A. Blubaugh
Public Member
Federal Glover
County Member
Michael R. McGill

Special District Member

Mary N. Piepho
County Member
Rob Schroder
City Member
Igor Skaredoff
Special District Member

Don Tatzin City Member

#### **ALTERNATE MEMBERS**

Candace Andersen
County Member
Sharon Burke
Public Member
Tom Butt
City Member
Stanley Caldwell
Special District Member

December 9, 2015 Agenda Item 7

December 9, 2015 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553

# **Commissioner Terms**

Dear Members of the Commission:

This is an update regarding Commissioner appointments and the process for filling vacancies.

The authority and procedures for appointing members of the Commission are set forth in the Cortese Knox Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 (CKH Act). All terms of office on LAFCO are four years, expiring on the first Monday in May, unless otherwise specified.

In May 2015, the terms of five Commissioners will expire: City member Don Tatzin, County member Candace Andersen, Public members Don Blubaugh and Sharon Burke, and Special District member Mike McGill.

The selection process per the CKH and Commission policies for the members is summarized below:

City Members – selected by the City Selection Committee. The City appointments generally occur in March or April. LAFCO staff will coordinate with the Executive Director of the Contra Costa County Mayors' Conference and report back to the Commission following the appointment.

County Members – appointed by the County Board of Supervisors. LAFCO staff will coordinate with the County regarding the upcoming vacancy, and report back to the Commission following the appointment. The Board of Supervisors typically makes its appointments in January each year.

Special District Members – selected by the Special District Selection Committee through the local chapter of the Special Districts Association. LAFCO staff will conduct the election in conjunction with the Contra Costa Special Districts Association, and report back to the Commission following the election in April 2016.

*Public members* - appointed by the other members of the commission subject to the affirmative vote of at least one of the members selected by each of the other appointing authorities (i.e., city, county, special district). The public member must be a resident of the County, and cannot be a current board member, officer, or employee of the County, a city or special district located in this county.

The Commission's current policies include provisions for recruiting and selecting Public Members (see attached). The Commission's policy provides that "a public member who is appointed following the Public Member Recruitment Process may be re-appointed under an alternative selection procedure once. Any subsequent reappointments require use of the Public Member Recruitment Process."

The current public members (i.e., regular and alternate) were appointed through the Public Member Recruitment Process; neither have been appointed though an alternative selection procedure (e.g., automatic reappointment).

Both public members have expressed interest in continuing to serve on Contra Costa LAFCO. The Commission has the option of appointing the public members under an alternative selection process, and can do so in April 2016. Otherwise, we will initiate the recruitment for the Public Member seats in March 2016.

**RECOMMENDATION** - Receive report and provide direction regarding the Public Member Selection Process.

Sincerely,

LOU ANN TEXEIRA EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Attachment – Commissioner Handbook - Section 1.2 - Membership

# 1.2 MEMBERSHIP

## A. Selection and Terms of Office

# 4) Public Members

The one regular public member and one alternate member are appointed by, and serve at the pleasure of, the regular city, county and special district members of the Commission.

# 5) Selection of Public and Alternate Public Members

The method for selecting public members is determined by the City, County and Special District members. At least four affirmative votes are required to appoint the public members, and there must be at least one vote from each of the other member categories: City, County and Special District.

Unless the Commission gives alternative direction, the following procedure is used to recruit and select public members of Contra Costa LAFCO.

## **Public Member Recruitment Process**

- Public announcement of the vacancy.
- Committee appointed by the Chair, consisting of a City member, County member and Special District member, screens applications and letters of interest.
- A committee composed of part or all of the Commission conducts interviews of selected applicants.
- The committee makes recommendations to the Commission.
- The Commission may conduct subsequent interviews and make a selection.

The use of any alternative selection process requires at least four affirmative votes, and there must be at least one vote from each of the other member categories: City, County and Special District.

A public member who is appointed following the Public Member Recruitment Process may be re-appointed under an alternative selection procedure once. Any subsequent reappointments require use of the Public Member Recruitment Process.